NFL Names Randy Allen of Highland Park High School Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year

NFL Communications

NFL Names Randy Allen of Highland Park High School Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year

Social Responsibility and Community Relations 2016 Regular English





The NFL and the Dallas Cowboys announced today, Head Football Coach RANDY ALLEN of Highland Park High School in Dallas, Texas is the Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year. The award was created to honor exemplary high school football coaches who demonstrate a commitment to player health and safety, and the integrity, achievement and leadership exemplified by the winningest coach in NFL history, Don Shula.

The announcement was made during the 2017 Pro Bowl on ESPN. For the first time ever, all 32 Don Shula Award nominees were invited and recognized in special ways during the NFL's week-long celebration of football at the Pro Bowl in Orlando.

Nominated by the Dallas Cowboys, Coach Allen was one of two high school football coaches selected as finalists from a group of coaches nominated by NFL teams. As the national Shula Award Winner, Allen will receive $25,000 from the NFL Foundation, $15,000 of which will go to his high school's football program. He will be a guest of the NFL during Super Bowl LI and walk the red carpet at NFL Honors, a two-hour primetime special airing nationally on Feb. 4, the night before Super Bowl LI.

"Randy is someone that I respect and admire greatly. He is a man who understands the fundamental responsibility of being a high school football coach—and that is to build character and shape young lives," said Dallas Cowboys Owner, President and General Manager JERRY JONES. "He teaches integrity and life lessons as well as he does the X's and O's, and he is very successful builder of character."

Allen has coached the Highland Park High School football team for 18 years and recently led the Scots to a 5A Division 1 Texas State Championship with a 16-7 victory over Temple High School. As one of the most recognized and winningest programs in the history of Texas high school football, this marks the Scots' second state championship under Allen's tenure. Allen previously coached current Detroit Lions quarterback MATTHEW STAFFORD to a state championship in 2005 and currently coaches the grandchildren of Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones.

His success on the field is rivaled by his dedication to building high-character student-athletes, with a focus on leadership and strong moral values. Allen is a teacher who uses his role as a coach to build boys into men and emphasizes the importance of sportsmanship and integrity to his team.

The runner-up was Green Bay Packers nominee and Kimberly High School Head Football Coach STEVE JONES of Kimberly, Wisc. Jones will receive $15,000 from the NFL Foundation, $10,000 of which will go to his high school football program.

All Shula Award nominees are active or retired high school football coaches nominated by NFL teams for their character and integrity, leadership and dedication to the community, commitment to player health and safety and on-field success.

Coach Allen was selected by a panel of distinguished individuals. New to the Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award selection panel this year are two-time Super Bowl champion (XLI, 50) and five-time NFL MVP PEYTON MANNING, Super Bowl XLII champion and Good Morning America contributor MICHAEL STRAHAN and Pro Football Hall of Fame President DAVID BAKER.

The selection panel also includes:

  • Coach DON SHULA – the winningest coach in NFL history
  • Former Dallas Cowboys Personnel Director and contributor GIL BRANDT
  • 2015 Don Shula NFL Coach of the Year Award Winner MICHAEL BURNETT
  • Former Indianapolis Colts Coach and current NBC analyst TONY DUNGY
  • Executive Director of USA Football SCOTT HALLENBECK
  • Aplington-Parkersburg High School Principal and son of the school's late football coach, Ed Thomas, AARON THOMAS

Below is a full list of the 2016 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year nominees. For more information on the NFL Foundation, visit or follow @NFLFoundation on Twitter.

2016 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Nominees




Arizona Cardinals

Perry High School

Preston Jones

Atlanta Falcons

Tucker High School

Bryan Lamar

Baltimore Ravens

Walkersville High School

Joe Polce

Buffalo Bills

Dunkirk High School

Mike Sarratori

Carolina Panthers

Hilton Head School

Russel ‘BJ’ Payne

Chicago Bears

Peoria High School

Tim Thornton

Cincinnati Bengals

St. Xavier High School

Steve Specht

Cleveland Browns

Lorain High School

Dave McFarland

Dallas Cowboys

Highland Park High School

Randy Allen

Denver Broncos

Strasburg High School

Jeff Giger

Detroit Lions

Benton Harbor High School

Elliot Uzelac

Green Bay Packers

Kimberly High School

Steve Jones

Houston Texans

Ebbert L. Furr High School

Matthew Valmore

Indianapolis Colts

Westfield High School

Jake Gilbert

Jacksonville Jaguars

Ponte Vedra High School

Matthew Toblin

Kansas City Chiefs*

Grain Valley High School

Blue Valley High School

David Allie

Eric Driskell

Los Angeles Rams

Narbonne High School

Manuel Douglas

Miami Dolphins

Carol City High School

Aubrey Hill

Minnesota Vikings

Minneapolis North High School

Charles Adams

New England Patriots

Millis High School

Dana Olson

New Orleans Saints

Edna Karr High School

Brice Brown

New York Giants

Cardinal Hayes High School

CJ O’Neill

New York Jets

Curtis High School

Peter Gambardella

Oakland Raiders

California School for the Deaf

Warren Keller

Philadelphia Eagles

Perkiomen Valley High School

Rob Heist

Pittsburgh Steelers

Thomas Jefferson High School

Bill Cherpak

San Diego Chargers

Madison High School

Rick Jackson

San Francisco 49ers

Saint Francis High School

Greg Calcagno

Seattle Seahawks

Tumwater High School

Sid Otton

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

St. Petersburg High School

Joe Fabrizio

Tennessee Titans

Whitehaven High School

Rodney Saulsberry

Washington Redskins

Quantico Middle/High School

Paul Roy

*Indicates team has more than one nominee.

# # #

About The NFL Foundation: The National Football League Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to improving the lives of those touched by the game of football – from players at all levels to communities across the country. The NFL Foundation represents the 32 NFL clubs and supports the health, safety and wellness of athletes, youth football, and the communities that support our game. For more information on The NFL Foundation, visit:


Ana Blinder, NFL

212 450-2467