Keegan-Michael Key to Host NFL Honors at Wortham Theater Center in Houston

NFL Communications

Keegan-Michael Key to Host NFL Honors at Wortham Theater Center in Houston

Corporate Communications Regular English


Annual Awards Show to Take Place at Wortham Theater Center

in Houston on Eve of Super Bowl LI

KEEGAN-MICHAEL KEY, Emmy-award winning actor, writer and creator, will take the stage as host of NFL HONORS on Saturday, Feb. 4 at the Wortham Theater Center in Houston. The two-hour primetime awards special recognizing the NFL's best players, performances and plays from the 2016 season will air nationally at 8 PM ET/PT on FOX.

Key is the co-creator and co-star of Comedy Central's "Key & Peele" with Jordan Peele. The show won the 2016 Emmy Award for Outstanding Variety Sketch Series, with Key being individually nominated for acting and co-writing with Peele. Key was previously nominated for five Emmy Awards for his work on the show, as well as a 2016 Screen Actors Guild Award for Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series. "Key & Peele" won a 2014 Peabody Award and an American Comedy Award for Best Alternative Comedy Series. The show has become a TV and viral sensation, with 15 total Emmy® nominations and approaching a billion cumulative online hits. The series concluded its five season run in September 2015.

Key can currently be seen in John Hamburg's comedy Why Him? in which he stars alongside James Franco, Bryan Cranston and Megan Mullally. 20th Century Fox released the film on December 23. Earlier in the year, he starred in in Mike Birbiglia's critically acclaimed Don't Think Twice, which premiered at this year's South by Southwest and Tribeca Film Festivals, and was widely regarded as one of the best films of 2016. He also co-starred and produced Warner Brothers' Keanu, alongside Jordan Peele.

Keegan recently wrapped production on Nick Stoller's comedy series "Friends from College" that will premiere on Netflix later this year.

Music for the show will be performed by vocalist-instrumentalist SPENCER LUDWIG. The trumpeter, singer, producer and dancer was the lyrical lead trumpeter for the multiplatinum-selling indie pop act, Capital Cities and toured on Katy Perry's Prismatic World Tour. In April of 2015, Ludwig signed a worldwide record deal as a solo artist with Warner Bros. Records.

"NFL Honors," which debuted in Indianapolis in 2012, is an annual event hosted from the Super Bowl city the evening before the AFC and NFC champions meet. Key joins ALEC BALDWIN, SETH MEYERS and CONAN O'BRIEN on the list of award-winning celebrities to host the NFL's awards show.

The show includes the announcement of THE ASSOCIATED PRESS' annual accolades and the newest PRO FOOTBALL HALL OF FAME class. Preceding FOX's telecast, NFL Network will air "Super Bowl Saturday Night" at 7 PM ET covering all the sights and sounds from the Red Carpet presented by VISA at NFL Honors.

The full list of awards that will be presented is:

AP Most Valuable Player Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year presented by Nationwide
AP Coach of the Year AP Comeback Player of the Year presented by McDonald's
AP Offensive Player of the Year presented by Microsoft AP Defensive Player of the Year presented by Old Spice
AP Offensive Rookie of the Year AP Defensive Rookie of the Year

Bridgestone Performance Play of the Year

FedEx Air & Ground Players of the Year Fantasy Player of the Year Courtyard's Greatness on the Road Award
Salute To Service Award presented by USAAArt Rooney Sportsmanship Award
Deacon Jones Award Castrol EDGE Clutch Performer of the Year
Built Ford Tough Offensive Line of the Year