Philadelphia Eagles Electric Slide Voted Celebration of the Year at NFL Honors

NFL Communications

Philadelphia Eagles Electric Slide Voted Celebration of the Year at NFL Honors

Corporate Communications 2017 Regular English



Two-Hour Primetime Awards Show on NBC Recognizes Outstanding Players

 and Performances from 2017 Season and Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018

The Philadelphia Eagles Electric Slide in Week 12 was voted the CELEBRATION OF THE YEAR. The award was announced tonight at NFL HONORS – a two-hour primetime awards show that will air nationally tonight at 9 PM ET/PT on NBC.

This was the first year the NFL awarded the "Celebration of the Year" at NFL Honors. The Eagles' Electric Slide celebration was selected through a unique fan vote. The NFL invited all 32 teams to submit a regular-season celebration of their choice to compete in a bracket-style voting structure that narrowed until the final four celebrations. Emmy-award winning actor, writer and creator KEEGAN-MICHAEL KEY hosted a Facebook Live Show on Saturday, Jan. 27 during which fans voted for their favorite of the final four. Final votes were tallied, and Keegan announced the Eagles' as the winners of the NFL's very first "Celebration of the Year" tonight at Northrop at the University of Minnesota.

On the eve of Super Bowl LII, featuring the New England Patriots versus the Philadelphia Eagles, the NFL and THE ASSOCIATED PRESS announced their annual accolades in an awards show recognizing the best players, performances and plays from the 2017 season.

Emmy-nominated actor and comedian ROB RIGGLE hosted the show, and many of the winners were on-hand to accept their awards.

The newest PRO FOOTBALL HALL OF FAME class was announced and introduced during the show with the Class of 2018 appearing on stage at Northrop at the University of Minnesota.

The prestigious Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award presented by Nationwide, which recognizes a player's off-the-field community service as well as his playing excellence, and the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, as voted by his peers, were among the awards announced this evening.  

Seven of the awards were from the AP. These awards are voted on at the end of the regular NFL season by a nationwide media panel of 50 people who regularly cover the league. The ballots are tabulated solely by the AP.

The full list of awards that will be presented is:

AP Most Valuable Player Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year presented by Nationwide
AP Coach of the Year AP Comeback Player of the Year
AP Offensive Player of the Year presented by Microsoft AP Defensive Player of the Year
AP Offensive Rookie of the Year AP Defensive Rookie of the Year

Bridgestone Elite Performance Play of the Year

FedEx Air & Ground Players of the Year
Salute To Service Award presented by USAACourtyard's Greatness on the Road Award
Deacon Jones Award Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award
Built Ford Tough Offensive Line of the YearCastrol EDGE Clutch Performer of the Year
Celebration of the YearGame Changer presented by Secret Deodorant


NFL Honors is an NFL Network production in association with Rock Garden Media. For more information about "NFL Honors" fans may visit and follow the #NFLHonors conversation on Twitter.


#    #    #