NFL Stars Take Center Stage as 2013 Pro Bowl Kicks Off Super Bowl Week

The NFL’s best will be in the spotlight on Sunday, January 27 (7:00 PM ET, NBC) as the 2013 Pro Bowl kicks off Super Bowl Week.

The NFL All-Star Game will take place once again at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii and will be the signature event to start the week leading up to Super Bowl XLVII between the Baltimore Ravens and San Francisco 49ers in New Orleans (Sunday, February 3, CBS).

“It’s a tremendous honor and I am very humbled to receive this recognition,” says Denver quarterback PEYTON MANNING, whose 12 All-Star selections are the most for a quarterback in AFC-NFC Pro Bowl history. “Being voted to the Pro Bowl by your opponents, their coaches and of course the fans means a great deal to me, especially when you consider how many other quarterbacks in the AFC had outstanding seasons. This recognition shows that our offensive line did a great job with protection. It shows that our wide receivers and tight ends made a lot of plays.”

For the fourth consecutive year, the Pro Bowl will be played the week before the Super Bowl. The 2012 Pro Bowl on NBC was watched by an average of 12.5 million viewers, making it the most-watched All-Star game of any sport for the third consecutive year.

Last year, the AFC set a single-game Pro Bowl scoring record by defeating the NFC, 59-41. Miami Dolphins wide receiver BRANDON MARSHALL, who had six catches for 176 yards with a Pro Bowl-record four touchdowns, was named the MVP of the 2012 Pro Bowl. The 2013 game is the 43rd between the AFC and NFC All-Stars with the all-time series tied, 21-21.

The 43-man teams are comprised of 21 offensive and 17 defensive players plus five specialists, including a long snapper.  The AFC All-Star team will be led by JOHN FOX and the coaches from the Denver Broncos while MIKE MC CARTHY and the Green Bay Packers’ coaching staff will guide the NFC Pro Bowl squad for the second consecutive year.

The NFL is the only professional sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players in determining its All-Star teams. The consensus vote of each group counts one-third towards the total. Each team submits two ballots – those of the coach and the players with no one permitted to vote for a player on his own team. This year, more than 100 million fan votes were cast on and mobile devices.

Under terms of the Collective Bargaining Agreement, each player on the winning Pro Bowl team receives $50,000, while each player on the losing squad earns $25,000.

The Pro Bowl was held consecutively from 1980 to 2009 at Honolulu’s Aloha Stadium, moved to Sun Life Stadium in South Florida in 2010 and then returned to Hawaii in 2011.

Fans can purchase tickets to the 2013 Pro Bowl at or Fans may also call 1-800-745-3000 or visit the Aloha Stadium box office.

For the complete release, click here

Comments are closed.